HCPC, CPD and Registration: Full Grab Chat – 1st October 2013

This was special extra chat, held with The Health and Care Professions Council and provided the opportunity for occupational therapists to discuss registration and CPD. Many thanks to The HCPC for facilitating this discussion and to all participants.

 

217,679 Impressions

199 Tweets

23 Participants

 

 

GillyGorry
who’s online for tonights #otalk with @the_hcpc ?

Helen_otuk
Me just brewing up a coffee RT @GillyGorry: who’s online for tonights #otalk with @the_hcpc ?

GillyGorry
RT @BAOTCOT: The story so far from the #askHCPC CPD discussion – I will update further after #OTalk tonight! http://t.co/CdyIhkxY3C

GillyGorry
RT @The_HCPC@Helen_otuk thanks so much for contributing in the discussion Helen, see you online again this evening #otalk #askhcpc

CPDonline
Looking forward to tonights #OTalk lots of CPD discussions hopefully

BoothRach
I’m here, got my brother visiting and just finishing the takeaway I ‘prepared’ then I’ll be joining in #otalk @The_HCPC

kirstyes
@GillyGorry @The_HCPC Not yet but hope to be shortly #otalk

The_HCPC
Send through your questions OT’s on CPD #OTalk

CharOTReilly
@GillyGorry @The_HCPC I’m online for #otalk tonight

Catherine_OT
RT @OTalk_Occhat: Join a special #otalk in approx 40 mins with @the_hcpc talking about maintaining your registration and CPD followed by jo…

OTSM2011
#otalk @The_HCPC I’m here following along. Sorry I missed lunch time event with @BAOTCOT

GillyGorry
@StudentOT @The_HCPC @SalfordUni excelllent so glad you could join us #otalk

GillyGorry
@CharOTReilly @The_HCPC yay welcome #otalk

GillyGorry
Just to remind all those joining #otalk to adhere to code of ethics and professional conduct

kirstyes
@The_HCPC I’ve asked this question offline but personally I’m really keen to know when we might be able to share eprofiles for audit #otalk

GillyGorry
Does anyone have any questions for @The_HCPC tonight #otalk

The_HCPC
Has anyone been selected for audit this renewal period? #OTalk #askhcpc

BoothRach
How would the @The_HCPC suggest we best record our joining in online discussions like #otalk within our #cPD?

GillyGorry
http://t.co/yjHcv4SMSZ @The_HCPC Blog post for tonights #otalk

kirstyes
@The_HCPC I’m very glad that we don’t have a points based CPD system but that focus on benefitting service users/improving quality #otalk

The_HCPC
@kirstyes as in sharing your own profiles with colleagues? #otalk #askhcpc

CharOTReilly
@BoothRach @The_HCPC great question! #otalk

GillyGorry
@The_HCPC how can OTs maintain their registration in role emerging and non traditional settings? #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @kirstyes@The_HCPC I’m very glad that we don’t have a points based CPD system but that focus on benefitting service users/improving qu…

kirstyes
@The_HCPC No, as in rather than e-mailing audit paperwork being able to put together an ePortfolio/Profile to share with yourselves. #otalk

The_HCPC
@BoothRach Storyboard it through Storify & either highlight where you joined in or address it in your opening statement #otalk #askhcpc

OTSM2011
RT @kirstyes@The_HCPC I’m very glad that we don’t have a points based CPD system but that focus on benefitting service users/improving qu…

kirstyes
RT @BoothRach: How would the @The_HCPC suggest we best record our joining in online discussions like #otalk within our #cPD?

kirstyes
RT @GillyGorry@The_HCPC how can OTs maintain their registration in role emerging and non traditional settings? #otalk

GillyGorry
@OTAshleyP lurking is also great #otalk

The_HCPC
@kirstyes happy to hear – it is all about personal reflection & how your CPD benefits service users #otalk #askhcpc

GillyGorry
RT @The_HCPC@BoothRach Storyboard it through Storify & either highlight where you joined in or address it in your opening statement #otal

BoothRach
RT @The_HCPC@BoothRach Storyboard it through Storify & either highlight where you joined in or address it in your opening statement #otal

kirstyes
@GillyGorry @The_HCPC Excellent question. Also in education and managerial roles.Some people surprised don’t have to work clinically #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @kirstyes@The_HCPC No, as in rather than e-mailing audit paperwork being able to put together an ePortfolio/Profile to share with your…

Helen_otuk
Could also use a reflective approach to incorporating on-line discussions into own practice? #OTalk

ElVeasey
RT @BAOTCOT: There will then be a special CPD #OTalk from 7pm tomorrow, followed by #OTalk journal club. Don’t miss it!

GillyGorry
@kirstyes @The_HCPC yes it can be difficult if no clinical element. #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @Helen_otuk: Could also use a reflective approach to incorporating on-line discussions into own practice? #OTalk

The_HCPC
@GillyGorry look at our standards & address your learning through these, http://t.co/pRSvSQOrVD #otalk #askhcpc

GillyGorry
RT @BoothRach: How would the @The_HCPC suggest we best record our joining in online discussions like #otalk within our #cPD?

CharOTReilly
@kirstyes @GillyGorry @The_HCPC I feel it’s really important to stay clinical (even in part) for #CPD #PD #EBP & 4 SU benefit #otalk

GillyGorry
@The_HCPC @BoothRach thats a really good idea! #otalk

BoothRach
What would be a good balances of evidence? What variations of evidence is expected? #otalk @The_HCPC

GillyGorry
RT @The_HCPC@GillyGorry look at our standards & address your learning through these, http://t.co/pRSvSQOrVD #otalk #askhcpc

The_HCPC
@kirstyes @GillyGorry exactly it can even be learning about new equipment #otalk #askhcpc

GillyGorry
@CharOTReilly @kirstyes @The_HCPC I agree. But not everyone will have it in their role #otalk

kirstyes
@CharOTReilly @GillyGorry @The_HCPC I’m not so sure. I think it’s about remaining in contact with practice, practice issues etc #otalk

BoothRach
@GillyGorry @The_HCPC True not used Storify but will give it a go #otalk

CharOTReilly
@GillyGorry @kirstyes @The_HCPC that’s the trouble isn’t it, need to find the right balance #otalk

GillyGorry
@The_HCPC what kind of free activities on and offline can OTs do to maintain CPD ? #otalk

Helen_otuk
I love that the non-clinical aspects of my job are as important for my CPD as the clinical aspects. #OTalk everything I do is related.

OTSM2011
@BoothRach @GillyGorry @The_HCPC I learnt how to use Storify last week for #otalk it is great tool and can link to lots of SM sites

BoothRach
RT @GillyGorry@The_HCPC what kind of free activities on and offline can OTs do to maintain CPD ? #otalk

GillyGorry
@BoothRach @The_HCPC I have used storify with @Helen_otuk Very user friendly #otalk can keep private too. good digital curation tool

CharOTReilly
@kirstyes @GillyGorry @The_HCPC that’s very true, just healthcare changes so rapidly, difficult to maintain skills if not practicing #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @Helen_otuk: I love that the non-clinical aspects of my job are as important for my CPD as the clinical aspects. #OTalk everything I do …

BoothRach
RT @The_HCPC@GillyGorry look at our standards & address your learning through these, http://t.co/pRSvSQOrVD #otalk #askhcpc

GillyGorry
@CharOTReilly @kirstyes @The_HCPC yes and a good balance is possible. #otalk

Helen_otuk
@CharOTReilly yes in a way, but many skills are needed to ‘run a system’ not all clinical. #OTalk

The_HCPC
@kirstyes @CharOTReilly @GillyGorry this is exactly it #otalk #askhcpc

Helen_otuk
Totally agree RT @kirstyes: I’m not so sure. I think it’s about remaining in contact with practice, practice issues etc #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @kirstyes@CharOTReilly @GillyGorry @The_HCPC I’m not so sure. I think it’s about remaining in contact with practice, practice issues e…

GillyGorry
@kirstyes @CharOTReilly @The_HCPC perfectly explained! exactly right #otalk

CharOTReilly
@Helen_otuk of course! I feel the clinical skills are 1 of many OTs need. Need 2 show evidence of practicing all #otalk #clinical #comm #man

gillyflower78
RT @BoothRach: How would the @The_HCPC suggest we best record our joining in online discussions like #otalk within our #cPD?

BrightonDth
RT @The_HCPC: Send through your questions OT’s on CPD #OTalk

GillyGorry
@The_HCPC #otalk start our journal club tonight. would this be a good example of free online cpd? any tips for how to record it for cpd?

CharOTReilly
RT @GillyGorry@CharOTReilly @kirstyes @The_HCPC yes and a good balance is possible. #otalk

CharOTReilly
RT @Helen_otuk: I love that the non-clinical aspects of my job are as important for my CPD as the clinical aspects. #OTalk everything I do …

NatalieLou28
RT @CharOTReilly@kirstyes @GillyGorry @The_HCPC that’s very true, just healthcare changes so rapidly, difficult to maintain skills if not…

BoothRach
How is @The_HCPC working to support #ots meeting their #cpd#otalk

Richardsblister
Evening all, silly me didnt sign in…but have now #otalk

GillyGorry
@OTSM2011 @BoothRach @The_HCPC yes storify, scoop it, paper li learnist and pinterest are also good digital curation tools #otalk

GillyGorry
@Richardsblister welcome 🙂 #otalk

gillyflower78
@The_HCPC @GillyGorry I’m starting to work on this by organising my student CPD using the TRAMm model which addresses HCPC standards #otalk

gillyflower78
RT @GillyGorry@The_HCPC how can OTs maintain their registration in role emerging and non traditional settings? #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @BoothRach: How is @The_HCPC working to support #ots meeting their #cpd#otalk

Richardsblister
@GillyGorry thanks #otalk

GillyGorry
@BoothRach @The_HCPC excellent question Rachel #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @gillyflower78@The_HCPC @GillyGorry I’m starting to work on this by organising my student CPD using the TRAMm model which addresses HC…

GillyGorry
@gillyflower78 @The_HCPC I am planning on incorporating tramm also. Setting it up as an eportfolio #otalk

Richardsblister
@gillyflower78 @GillyGorry @The_HCPC I would say the same as traditional settings, lots of research via internet and networking #otalk

Helen_otuk
@BoothRach @The_HCPC it was very positive to her about the work that the HCPC do with employers to promote the importance of CPD #OTalk

OTSM2011
@gillyflower78 @The_HCPC @GillyGorry #otalk for those less happy to use SM tools to record CPD can us TRAMm Tracker and Trail

gillyflower78
@GillyGorry @The_HCPC Ah, great idea to set it up as an eportfolio…. might consider doing the same. Will look out for your tips! #otalk

The_HCPC
@Richardsblister @gillyflower78 @GillyGorry this is all valid evidence, just make sure you tie it back to our standards and reflect #otalk

TRAMMCPD
@GillyGorry @gillyflower78 @The_HCPC #otalk We have found that the people who use it most successfully use it online

BoothRach
RT @Richardsblister@gillyflower78 @GillyGorry @The_HCPC I would say the same as traditional settings, lots of research via internet and n…

GillyGorry
@TherapistOT @The_HCPC @kirstyes @CharOTReilly Ilove being creative with cpd fave is my comic reflections blog #otalk http://t.co/diSiC2CmGz

Richardsblister
I have forwarded the Tramm to the student I am currently educating, capture them young on the cpd trail i say #otalk

BoothRach
RT @The_HCPC@Richardsblister @gillyflower78 @GillyGorry this is all valid evidence, just make sure you tie it back to our standards and r…

The_HCPC
@gillyflower78 @GillyGorry excellent, best to get into the habit now so if you do get selected you are already well practised #otalk

gillyflower78
@ElVeasey @The_HCPC @GillyGorry I’m doing a Prezi on it Thurs afternoon in TAP – its a model to help you structure your CPD. FAB! #otalk

Helen_otuk
I am using my own digital tool not SocMed basd, but I can then extract information to excel / word etc for audit if required #OTalk

TRAMMCPD
@GillyGorry @gillyflower78 @The_HCPC #otalk and complete it regularly as mentioned last week as a CPD ‘nagger’!

The_HCPC
RT @Richardsblister: I have forwarded the Tramm to the student I am currently educating, capture them young on the cpd trail i say #otalk

jacquelyn_e
RT @GillyGorry@TherapistOT @The_HCPC @kirstyes @CharOTReilly Ilove being creative with cpd fave is my comic reflections blog #otalk http:…

GillyGorry
@jacquelyn_e @gillyflower78 @The_HCPC can be. I use my blogs for CPD various sites available. can have secret pages private blog etc #otalk

The_HCPC
@TRAMMCPD @GillyGorry @gillyflower78 excellent advice #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @TRAMMCPD@GillyGorry @gillyflower78 @The_HCPC #otalk We have found that the people who use it most successfully use it online

TherapistOT
RT @Helen_otuk: I love that the non-clinical aspects of my job are as important for my CPD as the clinical aspects. #OTalk everything I do …

Helen_otuk
Very important point! RT @The_HCPC: this is all valid evidence, just make sure you tie it back to our standards and reflect #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @The_HCPC@Richardsblister @gillyflower78 @GillyGorry this is all valid evidence, just make sure you tie it back to our standards and r…

Richardsblister
@Helen_otuk hopefully you will share? I am so excited that i want to prepare as much as poss before being called #otalk

gillyflower78
RT @The_HCPC@gillyflower78 @GillyGorry excellent, best to get into the habit now so if you do get selected you are already well practised…

The_HCPC
We aren’t here to be punitive we want to hear how you think CPD helps you as a professional & how service users benefit #OTalk

GillyGorry
@gillyflower78 @The_HCPC I will look out for your tips too! #doingittogether #otalk

OTSM2011
RT @Helen_otuk: Very important point! RT @The_HCPC: this is all valid evidence, just make sure you tie it back to our standards and reflect…

gillyflower78
@TRAMMCPD @GillyGorry @The_HCPC Ha, love that CPD nagger has stuck 😉 TRAMm Tracker is excellent for helping you stay up to date #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @TRAMMCPD@GillyGorry @gillyflower78 @The_HCPC #otalk and complete it regularly as mentioned last week as a CPD ‘nagger’!

Richardsblister
@The_HCPC my clients are so used to me that they now say “are you going to reflect on that” bless them 🙂 #otalk

TherapistOT
@Helen_otuk everything is connected 🙂 it all is involved in my reasoning & builds creativity #otalk

Helen_otuk
I do not see audit as the reason for CPD. I structure my recording to aid if I am called. but Life Long Learning is my goal. #OTalk

GillyGorry
@OTwilsher @kirstyes @CharOTReilly @The_HCPC you can be doing cpd as a student. Reflection, courses, reading, online activities #otalk

The_HCPC
@Richardsblister @Helen_otuk keep in mind you won’t be selected for two years after you join the Register #otalk

Richardsblister
@Helen_otuk totally agree I did cpd even before i was qualified it seemed the natural thing to do #otalk

BoothRach
RT @Helen_otuk: I do not see audit as the reason for CPD. I structure my recording to aid if I am called. but Life Long Learning is my goal…

CharOTReilly
RT @TherapistOT@Helen_otuk everything is connected 🙂 it all is involved in my reasoning & builds creativity #otalk

NaomiMcVey
RT @The_HCPC: We aren’t here to be punitive we want to hear how you think CPD helps you as a professional & how service users benefit #OTalk

BoothRach
RT @GillyGorry@OTwilsher @kirstyes @CharOTReilly @The_HCPC you can be doing cpd as a student. Reflection, courses, reading, online activ…

Richardsblister
as an OT tech we were encouraged to do cpd, and now I encourage my techs have been qualified 3 yrs now #otalk

kirstyes
RT @Helen_otuk: I do not see audit as the reason for CPD. I structure my recording to aid if I am called. but Life Long Learning is my goal…

kirstyes
@Helen_otuk and doing the best by our clients #otalk

The_HCPC
@Richardsblister terrific practise! they may even help you with it in how they discuss practise with you #otalk

Helen_otuk
@The_HCPC oh I can so be selected, I was around before the HCP/HCPC! #OTalk

BoothRach
RT @Richardsblister: as an OT tech we were encouraged to do cpd, and now I encourage my techs have been qualified 3 yrs now #otalk

GillyGorry
@OTwilsher @The_HCPC yes me too! #otalk

gillyflower78
RT @Richardsblister: I have forwarded the Tramm to the student I am currently educating, capture them young on the cpd trail i say #otalk

TRAMMCPD
@The_HCPC @Richardsblister @Helen_otuk #otalk but its a gr8t habit 2 get into even if u won’t be called for a while Start as you mean to go

LindaOTUK
RT @Helen_otuk: I do not see audit as the reason for CPD. I structure my recording to aid if I am called. but Life Long Learning is my goal…

GillyGorry
RT @The_HCPC@gillyflower78 @GillyGorry excellent, best to get into the habit now so if you do get selected you are already well practised…

Richardsblister
@Helen_otuk @The_HCPC glad i am not the oldest in the room? or…maybe I am? was 50 when i qualified, but hey its only a number #otalk

The_HCPC
RT @TRAMMCPD@The_HCPC @Richardsblister @Helen_otuk #otalk but its a gr8t habit 2 get into even if u won’t be called for a while Start as …

Richardsblister
@TRAMMCPD @The_HCPC @Helen_otuk absolutely, it becomes a habit, hence my clients over hearing “i think i will reflect on that” #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @Richardsblister@Helen_otuk @The_HCPC glad i am not the oldest in the room? or…maybe I am? was 50 when i qualified, but hey its onl…

Richardsblister
we also encourage staff who receive thank you cards to lodge them into their cpd file, and reflect why they got the thank you #otalk

The_HCPC
@Richardsblister @Helen_otuk it is, and you sound like you really care about the profession #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @Helen_otuk: I do not see audit as the reason for CPD. I structure my recording to aid if I am called. but Life Long Learning is my goal…

GillyGorry
RT @TherapistOT@Helen_otuk everything is connected 🙂 it all is involved in my reasoning & builds creativity #otalk

Helen_otuk
oh yes, I cover all aspectsme / my practice / client / service / policy RT @kirstyes@Helen_otuk and doing the best by our clients #otalk

OTSM2011
RT @Richardsblister: we also encourage staff who receive thank you cards to lodge them into their cpd file, and reflect why they got the th…

The_HCPC
RT @Helen_otuk: oh yes, I cover all aspectsme / my practice / client / service / policy RT @kirstyes@Helen_otuk and doing the best by our…

Richardsblister
@The_HCPC @Helen_otuk You could say, those that know me know I am passionate about OT, its a standing joke world dominance 4 OT #otalk

jacquelyn_e
RT @Helen_otuk: oh yes, I cover all aspectsme / my practice / client / service / policy RT @kirstyes@Helen_otuk and doing the best by our…

GillyGorry
@The_HCPC excellent point. I enjoy cpd and want to do it to be a better OT for the benefit of my service users. #otalk

Richardsblister
To be this passionate you have to question yourself all the time, work out why things work or dont work in your line of care #otalk

TRAMMCPD
@The_HCPC #otalk CPD helps me to make the most of my career and to be more strategic. Makes me stop and think

GillyGorry
@OTwilsher I have tons and do tons of CPD.. but needed a away to organise. tramm seems a good fit for me #otalk

The_HCPC
@GillyGorry we all do CPD it is just a matter of recognising everything we do and keeping a log of it #otalk

Richardsblister
@GillyGorry @OTwilsher that is exactly why I got interested in Tramm, I have bits here and there, just need to sort it into logic #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @The_HCPC@GillyGorry we all do CPD it is just a matter of recognising everything we do and keeping a log of it #otalk

BoothRach
RT @The_HCPC@GillyGorry we all do CPD it is just a matter of recognising everything we do and keeping a log of it #otalk

Helen_otuk
Important point. RT @The_HCPC: we all do CPD it is just a matter of recognising everything we do and keeping a log of it #otalk

The_HCPC
RT @TRAMMCPD@The_HCPC #otalk CPD helps me to make the most of my career and to be more strategic. Makes me stop and think

TherapistOT
RT @The_HCPC@GillyGorry we all do CPD it is just a matter of recognising everything we do and keeping a log of it #otalk

TRAMMCPD
@The_HCPC @GillyGorry #otalk which is what TRAMm is designed to help with

GillyGorry
@The_HCPC yes very well put. I find somepeople don’t recognise what they do as cpd.. organising and recognising is key #otalk

Richardsblister
@The_HCPC @TRAMMCPD @The_HCPC I agree, even a wee chat with a colleague we lodge as informal supervision #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @Richardsblister@GillyGorry @OTwilsher that is exactly why I got interested in Tramm, I have bits here and there, just need to sort i…

gillyflower78
RT @The_HCPC@GillyGorry we all do CPD it is just a matter of recognising everything we do and keeping a log of it #otalk

gillyflower78
RT @GillyGorry@The_HCPC yes very well put. I find somepeople don’t recognise what they do as cpd.. organising and recognising is key #ota

OTwilsher
@GillyGorry brilliant to hear, I hope it works as well for me as it does seem a good foundation for CPD #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @Richardsblister: To be this passionate you have to question yourself all the time, work out why things work or dont work in your line o…

BoothRach
Hat can I do to help myself Recognise my everyday learning? #otalk @The_HCPC

Richardsblister
<<~~hopes Tramm leaves its web address for all #otalk

The_HCPC
RT @Richardsblister@The_HCPC @TRAMMCPD @The_HCPC I agree, even a wee chat with a colleague we lodge as informal supervision #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @BoothRach: Hat can I do to help myself Recognise my everyday learning? #otalk @The_HCPC

Helen_otuk
To me I differentiate if something is CPD by Did I learn / reinforce / develop. Evaluate to proceed or not etc? Who benefits? #OTalk

gillyflower78
RT @Richardsblister@GillyGorry @OTwilsher that is exactly why I got interested in Tramm, I have bits here and there, just need to sort i…

GillyGorry
@BoothRach @The_HCPC good question. I try to think about what I learned that day. New service, new equipment,reflect on a situation, #otalk

jacquelyn_e
RT @Helen_otuk: To me I differentiate if something is CPD by Did I learn / reinforce / develop. Evaluate to proceed or not etc? Who benefit…

The_HCPC
@BoothRach be confident, log everything in a diary, write a short entry about what you learnt, you will realise you learn & do a lot #otalk

Richardsblister
I agree with Helen, if you find yourself walking away asking yourself a question, its probably a cpd moment #otalk

The_HCPC
RT @Helen_otuk: To me I differentiate if something is CPD by Did I learn / reinforce / develop. Evaluate to proceed or not etc? Who benefit…

GillyGorry
RT @Helen_otuk: To me I differentiate if something is CPD by Did I learn / reinforce / develop. Evaluate to proceed or not etc? Who benefit…

kirstyes
RT @Helen_otuk: Important point. RT @The_HCPC: we all do CPD it is just a matter of recognising everything we do and keeping a log of it #…

jacquelyn_e
RT @GillyGorry@BoothRach @The_HCPC good question. I try to think about what I learned that day. New service, new equipment,reflect on a …

TherapistOT
Revealing our ongoing CPD engagement can be done alone but it’s really enjoyable to think collectively & acknowledge new insights #otalk

GillyGorry
RT @The_HCPC@BoothRach be confident, log everything in a diary, write a short entry about what you learnt, you will realise you learn & d…

CharOTReilly
@BoothRach @The_HCPC I have recently been doing a daily reflective log and this has helped me to recognise everyday learning #otalk

BoothRach
RT @The_HCPC@BoothRach be confident, log everything in a diary, write a short entry about what you learnt, you will realise you learn & d…

Richardsblister
Encourage others, so if you are communicating, do mention, “why not put that into your cpd file” and help them reflect why #otalk

The_HCPC
RT @CharOTReilly@BoothRach @The_HCPC I have recently been doing a daily reflective log and this has helped me to recognise everyday learn…

The_HCPC
RT @Richardsblister: Encourage others, so if you are communicating, do mention, “why not put that into your cpd file” and help them reflect…

GillyGorry
RT @TherapistOT: Revealing our ongoing CPD engagement can be done alone but it’s really enjoyable to think collectively & acknowledge new i…

TRAMMCPD
RT @Richardsblister: Encourage others, so if you are communicating, do mention, “why not put that into your cpd file” and help them reflect…

Helen_otuk
@Richardsblister and if you are not asking yourself a question then maybe you need to reflect on why not? Reinforcement is good too. #OTalk

jacquelyn_e
RT @TherapistOT: Revealing our ongoing CPD engagement can be done alone but it’s really enjoyable to think collectively & acknowledge new i…

jacquelyn_e
RT @The_HCPC@BoothRach be confident, log everything in a diary, write a short entry about what you learnt, you will realise you learn & d…

TherapistOT
I use videodiary :painful at 1st but fast & very powerful especially when you see yourself reflecting 10years later:context revealed #otalk

Richardsblister
@Helen_otuk absolutely! #otalk

Helen_otuk
RT @TherapistOT: I use videodiary :painful at 1st but fast & very powerful especially when you see yourself reflecting 10years later:contex…

TRAMMCPD
RT @Helen_otuk@Richardsblister and if you are not asking yourself a question then maybe you need to reflect on why not? Reinforcement is …

kirstyes
@Richardsblister I think my students get fed up of hearing that from me! #otalk

Richardsblister
@kirstyes Same, but I do warn them on their pre placement visit that I push cpd and reflective practice a great deal #otalk

kirstyes
@The_HCPC #otalk – How are creative methods of CPD viewed in the audit – e.g. use of poems, stories, art. It’s something I do and encourage

TherapistOT
In the video diary I see myself differently & can make connections I don’t make when I just write #otalk

kirstyes
RT @Helen_otuk: To me I differentiate if something is CPD by Did I learn / reinforce / develop. Evaluate to proceed or not etc? Who benefit…

GillyGorry
RT @TherapistOT: I use videodiary :painful at 1st but fast & very powerful especially when you see yourself reflecting 10years later:contex…

OTSM2011
@Richardsblister @kirstyes #otalk I learnt the most on a placement where my educator did the same,

GillyGorry
RT @Helen_otuk@Richardsblister and if you are not asking yourself a question then maybe you need to reflect on why not? Reinforcement is …

TherapistOT
RT @kirstyes@The_HCPC #otalk – How are creative methods of CPD viewed in the audit – e.g. use of poems, stories, art. It’s something I do…

Helen_otuk
I used to think I was a CPD bore! But my colleagues described me as a motivator! So keep at it! #OTalk.

GillyGorry
RT @kirstyes@The_HCPC #otalk – How are creative methods of CPD viewed in the audit – e.g. use of poems, stories, art. It’s something I do…

kirstyes
@The_HCPC We use the profile/audit as the basis for our assessments at the unit to prepare people for the future. #otalk

gcarinlevy
RT @GillyGorry@OTwilsher @kirstyes @CharOTReilly @The_HCPC you can be doing cpd as a student. Reflection, courses, reading, online activ…

jacquelyn_e
RT @kirstyes@The_HCPC #otalk – How are creative methods of CPD viewed in the audit – e.g. use of poems, stories, art. It’s something I do…

BoothRach
RT @kirstyes@The_HCPC #otalk – How are creative methods of CPD viewed in the audit – e.g. use of poems, stories, art. It’s something I do…

GillyGorry
@OTwilsher @gillyflower78 @TRAMMCPD yes. But be careful not to oversritcise. be constructive when self evaluating #otalk

Richardsblister
@TherapistOT oh my, seeing myself 10 yrs ago would be quite scary for me (grin) #otalk

JuliaHelenOT
@TherapistOT you’ve inspired me! Anything to cut down time spent typing sounds good to me #otalk

BoothRach
RT @TherapistOT: In the video diary I see myself differently & can make connections I don’t make when I just write #otalk

GillyGorry
Final 5 minutes of #otalk with @The_HCPC any final questions?

gcarinlevy
RT @The_HCPC@GillyGorry we all do CPD it is just a matter of recognising everything we do and keeping a log of it #otalk

BoothRach
@Katebye @CharOTReilly @The_HCPC very much agree #otalk

kirstyes
I always say this but reflect on things that go well too – show @The_HCPC auditors that you know why you get good results too #otalk

TRAMMCPD
@GillyGorry #otalk really useful event and makes @The_HCPC seem more approachable

GillyGorry
RT @TRAMMCPD@GillyGorry #otalk really useful event and makes @The_HCPC seem more approachable

The_HCPC
RT @kirstyes: I always say this but reflect on things that go well too – show @The_HCPC auditors that you know why you get good results too…

BoothRach
RT @TRAMMCPD@GillyGorry #otalk really useful event and makes @The_HCPC seem more approachable

GillyGorry
@TRAMMCPD @The_HCPC I agree! #otalk

Helen_otuk
@GillyGorry #OTalk oh my that has flown by, I also did a storify from todays #askHCPC event more points there too. http://t.co/y1w0DpaDs7

gillyflower78
RT @kirstyes: I always say this but reflect on things that go well too – show @The_HCPC auditors that you know why you get good results too…

CharOTReilly
RT @kirstyes@The_HCPC #otalk – How are creative methods of CPD viewed in the audit – e.g. use of poems, stories, art. It’s something I do…

OTwilsher
@GillyGorry @gillyflower78 @TRAMMCPD as a student this is my downfall I’m good at criticising but not give the credit where its due #otalk

The_HCPC
@TRAMMCPD @GillyGorry glad you found it useful, we certainly did and have really enjoyed chatting to OT’s today #otalk

Richardsblister
Loved this as always, thank you soooo much and dont forget TRAMM post a link for those who havent seen yet #otalk

 Content from Twitter

One thought on “HCPC, CPD and Registration: Full Grab Chat – 1st October 2013

  1. Pingback: #physiotalk pre-chat information: registration, renewal & CPD with @the_HCPC | physiotalk

Leave a Reply

