Great new blog by @Elaineampmh, who we saw at #COT2012 where she was a keynote speaker.

elaineahpmh

The title of my blog page is “Making the Invisible Visable”. I am an allied health professional in a national leadership role and I started my career as an occupational therapist in mental health where I worked for over twenty years. In my career I have seen huge changes in mental health practice with the development and advances in medicine, the move towards community care and the understanding and the need for people to be part of the wider social community because of the benefits this bring. My first job in 1985, was in a long stay rehabilitation day unit for people who were living in the hospital which in today’s mental health service would no longer exist or be needed.
Although the services and treatment techniques have advanced being an allied health professional or a service users of mental health services can at times be something that people are…

View original post 1,000 more words

Leave a Reply

